تظهر التجارب في مناطق النزاع أن زيادة إشراك المجتمع المدني في عمليات السلام يحسن فرص النجاح

النساء على طاولة السلام

طوال التاريخ، كانت المفاوضات حول الحرب والسلام عمليات حصرية يهيمن عليها القادة السياسيون والعسكريون الذكور. غير أن النهج التقليدية غير كافية لمعالجة الصراعات المعاصرة المعقدة التي غالبا ما تكون داخلية أو عبر وطنية تشمل أطرافا متعددة غير حكومية، وغالبا ما تكون دولا ناهبة. وتفشل كثير من الجهود الحالية لصنع السلام والوساطة. يقدر البنك الدولي أن أكثر من 90٪ من الصراعات في العقد الماضي وقعت في البلدان التي شهدت حربا في السنوات الثلاثين الماضية.

في عام 2000، أقر مجلس الأمن الدولي القرار 1325 بأن السلام الأكثر دواما يتطلب مشاركة جميع قطاعات المجتمع، ولا سيما النساء بناة السلام في عمليات السلام. كما اعترفت توجيهات الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة لعام 2012 بشأن الوساطة الفعالة بالشمولية كمبدأ أساسي للوساطة الفعالة. ولكن في كثير من الأحيان، تجري مفاوضات سلام بين الأطراف المتحاربة المباشرة وتستبعد قطاعات واسعة من المجتمع. وعليه فإن المفاوضات وبالتالي مستقبل البلد يتم تعريفها من قبل الذين استخدموا العنف لتعزيز أهدافهم، مع استبعاد تجارب الناس الذين لديهم الشجاعة للعمل بشكل سلمي وتحملوا المسؤولية عن مجتمعاتهم في خضم الحرب.

وتظهر التجارب في مناطق الصراع – التي انعكست مؤخرا في الدراسات الكمية والنوعية – أن زيادة إشراك العناصر الفاعلة غير المسلحة (المجتمع المدني) في عمليات السلام يحسن فرص النجاح. ويمكن أن تؤدي المشاركة المبكرة والتمثيل المباشر و / أو إمكانية الوصول إلى طاولة المفاوضات إلى اختلافات إيجابية. وعلى الصعيد الدولي، هناك اهتمام متزايد ودعم لعمليات سلام ووساطة أكثر شمولية إلا أن الإجراءات العملية ل “كيفية” القيام بذلك لا تزال تشكل تحديا. ومنذ عام 2010، عملت آيكان على تقديم حلول مجمعة في مبادرة سلام أفضل.

“اننا ندعو المجتمع الدولى الى السير الى جانبنا فى جهودنا لمواجهة موجة التطرف المتصاعدة. “

Share This

Experiences in conflict areas demonstrate that greater inclusion of civil society in peace processes improves the chances of success

Women at the Peace Table

Throughout history, negotiations about war and peace have been exclusive processes dominated by male political and military leaders. But traditional approaches are inadequate for tackling complex contemporary conflicts that are often internal or transnational involving multiple non-state actors and often-predatory states. Too many current peacemaking and mediation efforts fail. The World Bank estimates that over 90% of conflicts in the past decade occurred in countries that had experienced war in the past thirty years.

In 2000, the UN Security Council recognized in Resolution 1325 that a more durable peace required the involvement of all sectors of society…particular[ly] women peacebuilders in peace processes. The UN Secretary General’s 2012 Guidance for Effective Mediation also recognized inclusivity as a key principle for effective mediation. But too often, peace negotiations take place between the immediate warring parties and exclude large segments of society. Thus the negotiations and consequently the future of the country are defined by those who used violence to further their goals, while excluding the experiences of people who had the courage to work non-violently and take responsibility for their communities in the midst of war.

Experiences in conflict areas – recently reflected in quantitative and qualitative studies – demonstrate that greater inclusion of unarmed non-state actors (civil society) in peace processes improves the chances of success. Early engagement and direct representation and/or access to the negotiating table can make positive differences. Internationally, there is growing interest and support for more inclusive peace and mediation processes. But the practicalities of ‘how’ to do this remain a challenge. Since 2010, ICAN has worked to provide solutions compiled in the Better Peace Initiative.

 

“We invite the global community to walk alongside us in our efforts to counter the rising tide of extremism. ”

+1 202 986 0952
info@icanpeacework.org
media@icanpeacework.org
Suite 524, 1775 Massachusetts Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20036

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This